East Texas, 2012—Forest Inventory and Analysis Factsheet


This science update summarizes the findings of the statewide annual inventory of the forest resource attributes in Texas conducted by the Southern Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program in cooperation with the Texas A&M Forest Service. The 254 counties of Texas are consolidated into seven FIA survey units—southeast (unit 1), northeast (unit 2), north central (unit 3), south (unit 4), west central (unit 5), northwest (unit 6), and west (unit 7). East Texas is made up of units 1 and 2 with a total of 43 counties, while central and west Texas consist of units 3 through 7 (fig. 1). This overview represents the 2003 to 2012 moving average for east Texas provided by the remeasurement of annual inventory plots.

  • Citation: Brandeis, Thomas J.; Cooper, Jason A.; Bentley, James W. 2014. East Texas, 2012—Forest Inventory and Analysis Factsheet. e-Science Update SRS-SU-086. Asheville, NC: USDA-Forest Service, Southern Research Station. 4 p.
  • Posted Date: February 11, 2014
  • Modified Date: February 11, 2014
  • Print Publications Are No Longer Available

    In an ongoing effort to be fiscally responsible, the Southern Research Station (SRS) will no longer produce and distribute hard copies of our publications. Many SRS publications are available at cost via the Government Printing Office (GPO). Electronic versions of publications may be downloaded, printed, and distributed.

    Publication Notes

    • This article was written and prepared by U.S. Government employees on official time, and is therefore in the public domain.
    • Our online publications are scanned and captured using Adobe Acrobat. During the capture process some typographical errors may occur. Please contact the SRS webmaster if you notice any errors which make this publication unusable.
    • To view this article, download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.