State Contacts on Wood-Using Mills


John Pye, Jeff Prestemon, Jean Daniels, Richard A. Harper, Tony Johnson, Todd Morgan, Ron Piva, Carolyn Steppleton

This page directs users to web sites listing wood mills open for business in their state, as well as those state forestry individuals keeping track of this information. It supplements the older information found at U.S. Wood-Using Mill Locations - 2005. Select states at left to see contact information for that state in this frame. frames version

to top


Alabama

web site (scroll down to Inventory and Industry on the right side)

Walter E. Cartwright
Alabama Forestry Commission
513 Madison Avenue
Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone: 334-240-9331
Fax: 334-240-9393
Email: Cartwrightw@forestry.state.al.us

to top


Alaska

web site

Todd A. Morgan
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: todd.morgan@business.umt.edu

to top


Arizona

web site

Patrick Rappold
Wood Utilization and Marketing Specialist
Arizona State Forestry Division
3650 Lake Mary Road
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
(928)774-1425
(928)779-2143 fax
(928)606-8874 mobile
patrickrappold@azsf.gov

to top


Arkansas

web site

Rebecca Montgomery
Arkansas Forestry Commission
3821 West Roosevelt Rd.
Little Rock, AR 72204
Phone: 501-296-1935
Fax: 501-683-2986
Email: rebecca.montgomery@arkansas.gov

to top


California

web site (pdf)

California Forestry Association
1215 K Street, Suite 1830
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-444-6592
Fax 916-444-0170
Email: cfa@foresthealth.org

and

web site

Todd Morgan
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: todd.morgan@business.umt.edu

to top


Colorado

web site (pdf 373 KB)

Joseph A. Duda
Colorado State Forest Service
Forest Management Division Supervisor
Phone: 970-491-7546
Cell: 970222-8690
Fax: 970-491-7736
Email: joseph.duda@colostate.edu

and

web site

Jason P. Brandt
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: jason.brandt@business.umt.edu

to top


Connecticut

web site

Doug Emmerthal
Dept. of Environmental Protection
Division of Forestry
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: 860-424-3635
Email: douglas.emmerthal@ct.gov

to top


Delaware

web site

Samual Topper
Wood Util. & Marketing Specialist
Department of Agriculture
Delaware Forest Service
Redden State Forest
18074 Redden Forest Drive
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone: 302-856-2893
Fax: 302-856-5039
Email: sam.topper@state.de.us

to top


Florida

web site

Jarek Nowak
Florida Division of Forestry
3125 Conner Blvd. C-25
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1650
Phone: 850-414 9936
Fax: 850-921-6724
Email: nowakj@doacs.state.fl.us

to top


Georgia

web site

Risher Willard
Georgia Forestry Commission
15133 GA Hwy 129 N
Claxton, GA 30417
Phone: 912-739-4734 cell 912-655-2104
Fax: 912-739-9061
Email: rwillard@gfc.state.ga.us

to top


Idaho

web site - Montana Manufacturers Information System, and
web site

Jason P. Brandt
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: jason.brandt@business.umt.edu

to top


Illinois

web site

Wade Conn
Illinois Department of Natural Resources
Division of Forest Resources
One Natural Resources Way
Springfield, IL 62702
Phone: 217-782-3376 or 217-785-8774
Email: wade.conn@illinios.gov

to top


Indiana

web site

Jeff Settle
Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources
Jackson/Washington State Forest
1278 E. State Road 250
Brownstown, IN 47220
Phone: 812-358-2160
Fax: 812-358-5837
Email: JSettle@dnr.in.gov

to top


Iowa

web site

Aron Flickinger, Special Projects Forester
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
Office: (515) 242-5966
Mobile: (515) 291-2829
Fax: (515) 281-6794
Email: Aron.Flickinger@dnr.iowa.gov

to top


Kansas

web site

David Bruton
Kansas Forest Service
318 Broadway
Valley Falls, KS 66088
Phone: 785-945-6147
Fax: 785-945-6883
Email: dbruton@ksu.edu

to top


Kentucky

web site (link on right under Forestry Publications)

Larry Lowe
Kentucky Division of Forestry
627 Comanche Trail
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502-564-4496
Fax: 502-564-6553
Email: larry.lowe@ky.gov

alternate contact:
Chris Nevins
Email: Christopher.Nevins@ky.gov

to top


Louisiana

web site

Carrie Castille
Louisiana Dept. Of Agriculture & Forestry
PO Box 1628
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
Phone: 225-922-1234
Fax: 225-922-1356
Email: SpecialAdvisor@ldaf.state.la.us

to top


Maine

web site

Greg Lord
Maine Forest Service
Dept. of Conservation
State House Station #22
Augusta, ME 4333
Phone: 207-287-4950
Email: gregory.r.lord@maine.gov

to top


Maryland

web site

Daniel R. Rider
Maryland DNR Forest Service
Forest Stewardship & Forest Products Utilization
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Avenue, E-1
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410-260-8583 desk
Fax: 410-260-8595 fax
Email: drider@dnr.state.md.us

to top


Massachusetts

web site

Gordon Boyce
Marketing and Utilization Forester
Department of Conservation and Recreation
51 Military Rd. Amherst, MA 01002-3353
Phone 413-253-5634 x206 Cell Phone 508-769-2311
Email: Gordon.Boyce@state.ma.us

to top


Michigan

web site

Anthony Weatherspoon
Michigan Dept. of Natural Resources
PO Box 30452
Lansing, MI 48909-7952
Phone: 517-335-3332
Fax: 517-373-2443
Email: weathera@michigan.gov

to top


Minnesota

web site

Keith L. Jacobson
Forest Products Utilization & Marketing Program Leader
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4044
Phone: 651-259-5270
FAX: 651-296-5954
Email: keith.jacobson@dnr.state.mn.us

to top


Mississippi

web site

Wayne Tucker
Mississippi Forestry Commission
301 North Lamar, Suite 300
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: 601-359-2803
Fax: 601-359-1349
Email: wtucker@mfc.state.ms.us

to top


Missouri

web site

John Tuttle
Forest Products Program Supervisor
Missouri Department of Conservation
P.O. Box 180
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573)522-4115 ext 3304
Email: John.Tuttle@mdc.mo.gov

to top


Montana

web site - Montana Manufacturers Information System, and

web site

Todd Morgan
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: todd.morgan@business.umt.edu

to top


Nebraska

web site

Dennis M. Adams
Rural Forestry Program Leader, Nebraska Forest Service
109B Entomology Hall, UNL
Lincoln, NE 68583-0815
Phone: 402-472-5822
Email: dadams2@unl.edu

to top


New Hampshire

web site

Dr. Sarah Smith
Extension Professor/Specialist, Forest Industry
UNH Cooperative Extension
Nesmith Hall
131 Main Street
Durham, NH 03824-2500
Phone: 603-862-2647
Fax: 603-862-0107
Email: sarah.smith@unh.edu

to top


New Jersey

web site

Ed Lempicki
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Parks and Forestry
New Jersey Forestry Service
PO Box 404
Trenton, NJ 08625-0404
Phone: 609-292-2520
Email: elempick@dep.state.nj.us

to top


New Mexico

web site

Naomi Engelman
Executive Director
New Mexico Forest Industry Association
PO Box 32191
Santa Fe, NM 87594
Phone: 505-986-9722
Fax: 505-986-9722
Email: info@nmfia.net

and

web site

Jason P. Brandt
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: jason.brandt@business.umt.edu

to top


New York

web site

Sloane Crawford
New York State Dept. of Environmental Conservation
Division of Lands and Forests
Bureau of Private Land Services
Forest Products Utilization and Marketing
625 Broadway
Albany, NY 12233-4253
Phone: 518-402-9415
Fax: 518-402-9028
Email: sncrawfo@gw.dec.state.ny.us

to top


North Carolina

web site

Barry D. New
North Carolina Division of Forest Resources
1616 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1616
Phone: 919-857-4843
Fax: 919-733-2835
Email: Barry.New@ncmail.net

to top


North Dakota

web site

Robert Harsel
North Dakota Forest Service
P.O. Box 604
Lisbon, ND 58054-0604
Phone: 701-683-4323
Fax: 701-683-5895
Email: robert.harsel@ndsu.edu

to top


Ohio

web site

Andy Sabula
Ohio Dept. of Natural Resources
Division of Forestry
2045 Morse Rd., Bldg. H-1
Columbus, OH 43229-6693
Phone: 614-265-6703
Email: andrew.sabula@dnr.state.oh.us

to top


Oregon

web site

Scott Leavengood
Oregon Wood Innovation Center
Forestry Extension Program
Oregon State University
119 Richardson Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331-5712
Phone: 541-737-4212
Fax: 541-737-3385
Email: Scott.Leavengood@oregonstate.edu

and

web site

Jason P. Brandt
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: Jason.brandt@business.umt.edu

to top


Oklahoma

web site

George L. Geissler, CF
Oklahoma Forestry Services
2800 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-522-8888
Fax: 405-522-4583
Email: George.Geissler@oda.state.ok.us

to top


Pennsylvania

web site

Matthew J. Keefer
Pennsylvania Dept. of Conservation and Natural Resources
Bureau of Forestry
PO Box 8552
400 Market St., 6th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8552
Phone: 717-214-3814
Fax: 717-783-5109
Email: makeefer@state.pa.us

to top


Rhode Island

web site

Thomas Abbott
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Division of Forest Environment
1037 Hartford Pike
North Scituate, RI 02857
Phone: 401-539-1052 or 401-539-2356
Email: thomas.abbott@dem.ri.gov

to top


South Carolina

web site

Tim Adams
South Carolina Forestry Commission
PO Box 21707
Columbia, SC 29221
Phone: 803-896-8802
Fax: 803-798-8097
Email: tadams@forestry.state.sc.us

to top


South Dakota

web site

Gregory J. Josten
South Dakota Department of Agriculture
Resource Conservation & Forestry
3305 1/2 West South St.
Rapid City, SD 57702-8160
Phone: 605-394-2279
Fax: 605-394-2549
Email: greg.josten@state.sd.us

to top


Tennessee

web site

Doug Schnabel
Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture
Division of Forestry
PO Box 40627, Melrose Station
Nashville, TN 37204
Phone: 615-837-5430
Fax: 615-837-5003
Email: Doug.Schnabel@state.tn.us

to top


Texas

web site

Chris Edgar, Ph.D.
Forest Resource Development
John B. Connally Building
301 Tarrow, Suite 364
College Station, TX 77840-7896
Phone: 979-458-6630
Fax: 979-458-6633
Email: cedgar@tfs.tamu.edu

to top


Utah

web site

Darren McAvoy
Extension Forester
Department of Forest, Range, and Wildlife Sciences
Utah State University
5230 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-5230
Phone: 435-797-0560
Fax: 435-797-3796
Email: Darren.McAvoy@usu.edu

and

web site

Jason P. Brandt
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: jason.brandt@business.umt.edu

to top


Vermont

web site

Bob De Geus
Wood Utilization Specialist
Vermont Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation
103 S Main St., Bldg. 10 South
Waterbury, VT 05671-0602
Phone: 802-241.3671
Fax: 802-244-1481
Email: robert.degeus@state.vt.us

to top


Virginia

web site (look under Timber Marketing and Utilization Publications)

Charles W. Becker
Virginia Dept. Of Forestry
900 Natural Resources Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone: 434-977-6555
Fax: 434-296-2369
Email: charlie.becker@dof.virginia.gov

to top


Washington

Dorian Smith
Office of Budget and Economics
Department of Natural Resources
PO Box 47041
Olympia, WA 98503
Phone: 360-902-1026
Fax: 360-902-1780
Email: dorian.smith@dnr.wa.gov

to top


West Virginia

web site

Greg Cook
Deputy State Forester
WV Div. of Forestry
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, WV 25305-0180
Phone: 304-558-2788
Email: gcook@wvforestry.com

to top


Wisconsin

web site

Terry Mace
Forest Utilization and Marketing Specialist
Division of Forestry
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
One Gifford Pinchot Drive
Madison, WI 53726-2398
Phone: (608) 231-9333
Fax: (608)231-9592
Email: terry.mace@wisconsin.gov

to top


Wyoming

web site

Jason P. Brandt
The University of Montana
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-5113
Fax: 406-243-2086
Email: Jason.brandt@business.umt.edu

to top


No contact available

No person responsible for mill information has been identified for this state. If you know of someone appropriate please notify Jeff Prestemon at jprestemon@fs.fed.us

 

Contact information based on information originally collected by:

Carolyn Steppleton
Forest Inventory and Analysis
Southern Research Station
Phone: 828-257-4848

Ronald Piva
Forest Inventory and Analysis
Northern Research Station
Phone: 651-649-5150

Jason Brandt
Assistant Director, Forest Industry Research
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
Gallagher Business Building
The University of Montana Missoula
Phone: 406-243-5113

Mill 2005 Info | Home | Search

modified: 27-Aug-2010
created by: Brian A. Doherty for FIA