2014 Southern Research Station Director’s Awards

Forest Service LogoOn Tuesday, October 14, Southern Research Station (SRS) director Rob Doudrick presented the Station Director’s Awards to the following:

Distinguished Science Award – Kurt Riitters; Research Triangle Park, NC

Recognizing global leadership in quantitative landscape ecology research and the development and application of landscape pattern analysis techniques and tools in Forest Service national resource assessments.

Early Career Scientist Award – Michael Ulyshen; Athens, GA

In recognition of remarkable contributions to the understanding of invasive insects and insect-pathogen complexes in forest ecosystems.

Science Delivery Award – Dave Wear and Jim Vose; Raleigh, NC

For exceptional accomplishments in developing and delivering integrated synthesis products that support science-based management of the nation’s natural resources.

Multicultural Organization Award – Acquisition Management Group; Asheville, NC

For outstanding support to SRS Headquarters and SRS Research Work Units during Fiscal Year 2014.

Safety and Occupational Health Award – John Roberts; Asheville, NC

For innovative solutions and active support of the SRS safety and occupational health program.

Sustainable Operations Award – Jason Anderson; Asheville, NC

For providing leadership at the Agency and Station levels in sustainable operations and the implementation of sustainable technology.

Business Operations Support Award – Patsy Hunsucker; Asheville, NC

For providing sustained excellence in business operations to SRS.

Research Technical Support Award – Andy (Charles) Harrison; Cordesville, SC

For extra effort and challenges with development of long-term database for Web portal-based data delivery system and contributions to publications/presentations on research at Santee Experimental Forest watersheds.

Research Professional Support Award – Louise Loudermilk; Athens, GA

For recognition of the exceptional performance in supporting SRS research activities.

Customer Service Award – Jeff Williams; Asheville, NC

For exemplary customer service to the Station and partners.

Partnership Award – Kent House Bug Day Team; Pineville, LA

In recognition of outstanding innovative and creative approaches in the successful implementation of the Kent House Bug Day partnership and promotion of the Forest Service and SRS.


Access the latest publications by SRS scientists.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Receive weekly updates