2013 Southern Research Station Director’s Awards Announced

The 2013 Southern Research Station (SRS) Director’s Awards were announced today, and will be awarded at the December SRS All Employees meeting. Congratulations to everyone!

Distinguished Science Award – James L. Hanula, Athens, GA  In recognition of exceptional, career-long contributions to our knowledge of forest insects of the southern U.S. and their role in southern forest ecosystems

Early Career Scientist Award – Christopher M. Oswalt, Knoxville, TN  For sustained early-career research activities in support of the SRS Forest Inventory and Analysis Program

Science Delivery Award – Template for Assessing Climate Change Impacts and Management Options (TACCIMO) Development Team – Steve McNulty, Raleigh, NC  For exemplary service in providing advanced scientific knowledge to land managers through a user-friendly, online information system   

Business Operations Support Award – Darlene Tolman, Asheville, NC  For outstanding support to the SRS in the area of Grants and Agreements administration

Research Technical Support Award – Julie A. Arnold, Cordesville, SC  For sustained excellence in supporting forested wetlands research, exemplified by installation of the FACE Wood Decomposition Experiment and the Bottomland Trace Gas Emissions Study

Research Technical Support Award – Howard Williamson, Nacogdoches, TX  For more than 40 years of extraordinary service in Research Technical Support for the SRS Wildlife Habitat and Silviculture Laboratory in Nacogdoches, TX

Research Professional Support Award – Nancy E. Koerth, Nacogdoches, TX  For more than 20 years of outstanding achievements in professional support as statistician for SRS-4159 with the Wildlife Habitat and Silviculture Laboratory in Nacogdoches, TX.

Customer Service Award – Suppression Cost Forecasting Team, Jeff Prestemon, Raleigh, NC   For outstanding efforts to deliver timely and highly useful forecasts of wildfire suppression spending to Forest Service Fire and Aviation Management and the Department of the Interior

Volunteer Award – John C. Moser, Pineville, LA  For exceptional contributions as a volunteer with the Forest Service and invaluable entomological research on mites for the SRS

Partnership Award – ForWarn Forest Disturbance Monitoring Project, Bill Hargrove, Asheville, NC  For outstanding collaborative work across government agencies in the development of ForWarn, an effective forest disturbance monitoring tool useful at the National level   

 Access the latest publications by SRS scientists.